Photo by Mauro Lima on Unsplash

Dear Reader: Don’t Call It a Comeback, I’ve Been Here for Years (Gossip, Grace Community Church, and the Return of the Mac)

Modern Day Zorro
7 min readOct 22, 2020

--

Have you ever broken up with someone or had a falling out with a really great friend and then as time goes on, something happens in your life and you rush to write them, but lose heart knowing that that relationship is not as close as it was?

Yeah, me either. The simple excuse for my absence is that there have been so many changes, so many revelations and so many bridges to cross and burn that I couldn’t stop to write. If you follow us on Twitter, you have seen firsthand what a tossing, turning trail this has become. I blinked and there are Christmas decorations at Costco despite 110-degree weather. You know you’re getting old when you start saying the same thing every year as I always marvel how quickly Christmas sneaks itself into the stores earlier and earlier. We’re just thankful at this point that many stores and malls have been allowed to re-open in Los Angeles County.

So, let’s get right into it. If you’re a fan of Warren Throckmorton (and who isn’t), do yourself a favor and look at the gentleman’s blog. He is a veteran blogger with an outstanding array of articles and topics. I have learned a great deal from it. He very often posts very short up-to-the-minute articles to get the information out there and, to that end, we will, too. For your edification, I’ll call it something like, “Two-minute Tuesdays” or “Short Take” or just “Here you go”. We don’t stand upon ceremony, people, when news breaks. Sometimes you just want to read the original source material for yourself, am I right?

Gossip

I have been meaning to say something about some of the criticisms that have been leveled about the stories here. I could hurl at all the insults that had been hurled at us, but I think I would rather explain a bit about the process (see picture above as a reference). I found it rather odd that the people who were kind enough to present this feedback only came around when I spoke about Mahoney, Chaffin, Grace Day School, etc. I see no other comments on my Jenna Ellis/Trump story, nor on any other pre-Mahoney. Take that for what you will. But let’s talk about gossip, or slander (really libel) or defamation. In the Bible, or in the law, what is important is if the speaker is intending to defame and the nature of the report itself. A liar could give a true report. A truth-teller could give a false report unknowingly. The importance is intention. Of secondary importance is the report itself.

Let me give you an example, after I wrote the Mahoney story, I had a whole dozen or so “GCC insiders” giving me all kinds of information hoping that I would report what they told me. I was told all kinds of things, specious as they were, about COVID outbreaks, financial indiscretions of many leaders at Grace Community Church, and TMUS. Now, if I had reported it and I was passing on a lie, I would be mistaken (and foolish) for doing so, but I wouldn’t be a gossip, or guilty of slander (libel). And here we are two months later and those “insiders” are nowhere to be found. I was being baited and set up, but what was made clear was that I didn’t pass on what they told me, so they slithered away.

How do I know they weren’t telling the truth? Context. Their writing style. Gut instinct. Coincidence. So, pertaining to gossip and MDZ:

  1. We only write the things of which we have seen first-hand, or vetted the testimony of a trusted source (usually a friend, to be honest). There is a rather large network of current TMUS employees, who are also Grace members who are not happy with what is going on and have been kind enough to submit documents, information and it has been a great partnership.
  2. True gossip lacks substance. It is illusory. It is for the purposes of cutting someone down, whether it is true or not is rendered unimportant, and that’s not what we are doing here. Much of what I report can be readily found online as well. Some of it can be found out by asking people at Grace, but the rest and most important information is known by so few in an effort to deceive and keep the donations coming.

So, we’ll continue to write what we know, and we hope that you continue to read.

Photo by David Weber on Unsplash

Grace Community Church: Michael Mahoney Excommunication

During the morning service on September 18, 2020, but before Communion (of course), John MacArthur made the announcement that Michael Mahoney, formerly of Spanish Ministries, and the Pastor of Administration, was asked to leave. MacArthur explained that the reasons were for “multiple crimes”, but that Mahoney was still “in his life”, as one reporter noted. Baffling that this was done during the Expositores Conference. I did not watch the Livestream; however, other attendees did express that they were not comfortable with the way in which Communion was conducted and refrained from taking it.

I received emails from others who said that that portion of the service regarding Mahoney had been edited post-Livestream. TMU appears to have that same problem. The ghosting and utter disappearance of announcements. That should really be looked into. Oh, c’mon, you know ghosts don’t exist. Kory Welch’s company owns the footage for Grace Community Church. Any editing request would go through him. It is plain that they are sweeping much about Mahoney under the rug.

A Shepherd told me that Mark Zhakevich had noticed some discrepancies and brought that to the attention of the elders who then, ultimately, fired Mahoney and promoted Zhakevich. The problem with that account is that it’s only one of the crimes of which Mahoney has been accused.

Photo by Charles Deluvio on Unsplash

Return, Return

There’s an old song, Spanish song called Volver, Volver. My grandfather would play his old beat-up guitar as his family were recording artists in the ’30s and that was always the one that brought a tear to the eye. I never understood it as I didn’t know Spanish and would rather listen to Mister Mister or the Jackson Five.

This has been a very strange few months and with great certainty, I can guarantee you that it will get a bit stranger. I do not think there is a reprieve ahead. Best thing you can do is hug your loved ones more, eat far too many tacos in a given week, and praise God for your health if you’re lucky enough to have it.

Trump stated that the coronavirus affected virtually no one, then he contracted it. Sean Feucht, that stank-faced hippie of Redding, CA, of Bethel fame. Let me see if I remember, was it really called the School of Supernatural Ministry? At any rate, a large outbreak occurred there. John MacArthur as well stated that “there was no pandemic”, that “1/100th of 1% die”, and among other things, also claimed that coronavirus reporting amounts to nothing more than “manufactured fear”. I realize that everyone is entitled to their opinion; however, when those opinions cause rifts in families and embolden other pastors to take such hardline positions, I think the speaker should be responsible.

I tweeted that MacArthur would be gone for two months. Some called it a “sabbatical” and defended the leave, others…well, I won’t say what they said, but it was not nice. John’s insistence that churches must open their doors and that not gathering is a sin solidly put him in the position of an Ephesian 4:11 pastor. Notice that that term there is referring to a position overseeing the Capital “C” Church, along with prophets and other offices. I’ll leave that to you to judge.

I can not tell you how many emails I received asking me where he was. I do not even go to Grace and these members did not know where their pastor was and too intimidated to ask their own elders. That’s what Christianity has really come to. If I knew, I would tell you, but I don’t. To leave now before the Election in two weeks, the contempt hearing on Nov. 13th, as well as missing the Christmas concert and other festivities does seem odd.

For now, we’ll be here. We hope you’re well and have many brilliant days ahead.

PS-Future Stories include:

  1. November’s LAPW lease renewal, the retrofitting of the three parcels/parking lots
  2. TMU-3 positive COVID cases as of 10/21/2020
  3. November 13th hearing re: Contempt
  4. The Master’s Seminary: The Series
  5. Joe Keller, Executive Pastor of Grace Baptist church and TMU History: Part Two

As always: Make time for music.

--

--

Modern Day Zorro

Ungodly Blogger by Night, Corporate Stooge By Day. Former GCC Member. Articles, usually light-hearted with a musical component. Stories of abuse and corruption.